Seven new junior judges appointed to clear courts backlog

 528 total views,  2 views today

By Itumeleng Koleile

The Judicial Service Commission (JSC) has announced the appointment of seven new judges following their rigorous open interviews process held in February.

The seven puisne judges are Justice Hopolang John Nathane, Justice ‘Makampong Gugu Mokhoro, Justice ‘Mabatšoeneng Grace Hlaele, Justice Tšeliso Joachim Mokoko, Justice Moneuoa Stephen Kopo, Justice ‘Mafelile Patricia Ralebese and Justice ‘Maliepollo Makhetha.

The JSC had initially advertised eight vacancies for the positions of acting judges of the High Court, however, following an announcement, only seven positions were filled.

The junior judges are engaged in a move by the JSC to clear the long-running backlog of cases in the judiciary that increased substantially with more judges having retired and others lost since the emergence of the Covid-19 pandemic.