Majoro wins against Vote of No Confidence

 478 total views,  2 views today

By Staff Reporter

Prime Minister Moeketsi Majoro this morning bagged 66 votes against his party leader in the All Basotho Convention (ABC) Nkaku Kabi who only managed to secure 38 of the 106 legislators who were present when a vote was carried out to determine whether the house continued to have confidence in the Prime Minister.

The motion proposed to the house by the Basotho Progressive Party (BPP) leader Tefo Mapesela and seconded by the Alliance of Democracy (AD) legislator Kose Makoa failed today when a vote was carried out.

In their motion, Mapesela and Makoa had proposed the name of the ABC leader Kabi to be named Majoro’s successor if the motion succeeded.

The motion was brought to the house following a protracted argument on whether the new ABC leader will be assuming the position of Prime Minister following his election or not.

Kabi won the ABC leadership, defeating a Majoro and his communication minister Sam Rapapa pact and another candidate Samonyane Ntsekele.

Kabi wanted Prime Minister Majoro to voluntarily step aside and hand him the Premiership post but Majoro refused thereby prompting the motion for a vote of no confidence in him.

Two of the Basotho Action Party members of parliament abstained in the vote today.