ABC MPs cross-floor to new party and MEC

 62 total views,  2 views today

By Mamello Mosaefane

All Basotho Convention (ABC) has lost its 10 members of parliament when they crossed-foor last Friday in the National Assembly.

Nine of the legislators defected to the ABC’s splinter party, Basotho Action Party (BAP) led by Professor Nqosa Mahao while the Mechachane constituency legislator Kaya Nyapane joined Movement for Economic Change (MEC).

The defections follow 10 letters received by the National Assembly deputy speaker, Lebohang Ramohlanka dated April 28, notifying the house of the intentions to cross-floor from ruling ABC to a BAP and MEC.

Part of the letters read, “I would like to inform you about my decision to leave the ABC party in government, to join the new Basotho Action Party. This decision shall happen as soon as my letter has been read”.

Legislators Libe Motšoane of Mphosong constituency, Sotlehang Sekhamane of Maputsoe constituency, Moshoeshoe Fako of Mabote constituency, Mamoipone Senauoane of ThabaTseka constituency, Motlatsi Maqelepo of Berea constituency, Mphosi Nkhasi of Pela-Tšoeu constituency, Nto Moakhi of Malibamatšo constituency, Tello Kibane of Peka constituency and Motebang Koma of Koro-koro constituency crossed floor to join Mahao’s new outfit.

Earlier on, former ABC deputy leader Mahao had announced at the BAP launch that it enjoyed the support of 20 members of parliament but said only 11 legislators will join the party and their identities would be disclosed withholding the other names.

However, the launch was only attended by the nine members of parliament who finally crossed floor in the national assembly.

Phamotse Molefi, was among legislators expected to cross-floor with the flock now under Mahao’s command but in the last hour dropped out and remained in the ABC.

Another blow was Kaya’s decision to not defect to BAP but join MEC-led Development Planning Minister Selibe Mochoboroane.

While Maqelepo had complained of having been voiceless in ABC, he today made it known to the National Assembly that according to the constitution of Lesotho, they now have freedom of expression as members of parliament under a new party.

“I would like to make it known today that we are free. We have voices,” Maqelepo told the house.

Leave a comment